Transportation Overview:

The transportation department has 10 route buses that cover the 208 square miles of the Washington Community School District. We transport approximately 883 students per year and travel over 130,000 miles per year. In addition to our routes, we also travel over 30,000 miles for activity trips. Our buses and vans are inspected twice a year by the Iowa Department of Education and the Iowa State Patrol.

To contact the Transportation Department use email link below or call (319)653-3695.

Transportation Staff:

Woody Harden
Transportation Director
Crystal Carnes

6am-10am 1-5pm
[email protected]
[email protected]

Bus Number Bus Driver
3-19 Camel Bill Harden
4-15 Bear

Kevin Orris
Deb Williams - AM Para
Rebecca Mills - PM Para

5-10 Dolphin Bryan Hoback
6-12 Squirrel Glen Martin
7-10 Horse

Tom Lyons

9-08 Seal

Noon Preschool
Cheryl Richardson - Driver
Candace Richardson - Para

10-15 Turtle Bev Ellis
12-13 Monkey
Tangier Suddeth - Driver
Candace Richardson - Para
13-08 Elephant Jerry Kron
15-08 Giraffe School to School Shuttle
20-11 Rabbit
Nathan Hentges
Tangier Suddeth - Para
BLC Shuttle
Cheryl Richardson - Driver
Candace Richardson - Para
Jim Almelien

Bryan Hoback
Neil Mills
Michele Putnam
Aaron Six

Hard Surface Regular Bus Routes Map and Information

Hard Surface Special Education Bus Routes Map and Information

Transportation Documents:

Transportation Request Form (Fillable)
*note this form must be opened in Adobe Acrobat Reader

Transportation Reimbursement Guidelines

Transportation Application for Employment

Transportation Links:

KWWL SMS for Cancellations and Delays

Iowa Pupil Transportation Association

National Association for Pupil Transportation

Iowa Department of Transportation

Iowa Department of Education School Transportation

Iowa State Patrol

Pupil Transportation Safety Institute

School Bus Information Council